Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Austin pickup, the retirement plan

Images

Austin pickup, the retirement plan

Ive been talking about this for several years but work, moving house, health, money, building a garage have now all been sorted and I can begin, well maybe not money!
    I plan on retirement ( sort of ) next year and contrary to all financial planners, Im going racing to tick off a few things on my bucket list !!
    Ive had this Austin pick up as a daily for few years on and off, now has a Vauxhall 8 valve engine and 5 speed, a bit rough around the edges, been around quite a while so its ready for a make over.
    Plan is..at the moment
    Ford 9" on ladder bars and coilovers, straight front axle with Sherpa ends, probably Pontiac 400 if I can replace a damaged block, Muncie if I can find one, blower, flip front, wolfies, I quite like the current colour so green metalflake
    I bought a couple of lengths of 100x50 steel and set to building the chassis. I went for this size so when it hooks up I want to get some wheelies and not break.
    Its sitting on welding table waiting for some plasma speed holes before levelling and clamping it all up to get welded.
    Updates as and when,
    I usually get a couple of hours most evenings but I seem to spend more time thinking and measuring on a build than actually working.
    Lets see how it goes.
    Attached Images Attached Images      
    Norfolk & Chance....Racing for the hell of it!!!

cool, good start.
    i live by the unwritten code between men, especially hot rodders

Looking forward to this build.
    Real steel

Images
    Loverly start fella look forward to seeing progress.
    www.randrhotrodimports.co.uk
    IMPORTER OF AMERICAN CARS AND PARTS, SHIPPER OF PARTS, SPEEDWAY MOTORS DEALER/STOCKIST, BROOKVILLE DEALER, O'BRIEN TRUCKERS DEALER, CARS INC TRI CHEVY STOCKIST AND DEALER, . https://www.facebook.com/randrhotrodimports/
    ALL MAJOR CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS TAKEN

Images