Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 59 of 59

Thread: 32 B Sedan queeries

  1. #41
    NSRA member kapri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    25,035
    Quote Originally Posted by mygasser View Post
    Yeah I guess the aftermarket just supply 1 for the 4 cylinder cars and 1 for v6 cars these days. The crossflow is considerably lighter than the pinto engines so the Ford originals would be lighter poundage.
    The springs will be too high rate regardless The reason is that the engine sits behind the front suspension on a rod but over it on a Cortina. Weights on my A worked out at about 470 front and 650 rear . I've some photos here somewhere of how the springs / lower arms sat but that was with a 14" rim not a 15" .
    Galations 6:7

  2. #42
    i'll check tomorrow if cortina and escort/capri are the same diameter coil springs. if so we keep various lengths and poundages at work from about 145 lbs up.
    neil.

  3. #43
    I have a digital VDO speedo and odometer and whereas the speedo works ok, the milage display appears blank even with the lights turned on to illuminate it.
    Anyone had this problem or knows where I can get it fixed please. Google just seems to throw up foreign companies for me.Name:  Digital speedo.jpg
Views: 494
Size:  50.8 KB

  4. #44
    NSRA member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,539
    Images
    2
    Might be as simple as an option of the dip switches, ie oddo on/off? A bit of a weird option to include anyway perhaps but how knows!? I'd be checking the instructions first.

    Chris
    Bumper sticker - This is an historic vehicle and only has three speeds....... if you don't like this one you sure as hell won't like the others.

  5. #45
    NSRA member nitro1471's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    575
    Images
    2
    Petrol is for washing parts..........Alcohol is for drinking.........
    Nitro is for racing.

    My Intro

    My Car

  6. #46
    Chris. The car came with it fitted and he said it used to work but was quite dim and sometimes was blank as it is now.

    Nitro.. I already have that very same info and it appears from the wiring to be set up as option 1.
    I would like it sorted as the rest of the dash is fitted with VDO gauges and obviously matches too. I found out from
    Googling that it may well be still recording the milage even though the display is blank.
    By-the-way, like your avatar photo! Yours?

  7. #47
    NSRA member nitro1471's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    575
    Images
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by BuffaloBill View Post
    Chris. The car came with it fitted and he said it used to work but was quite dim and sometimes was blank as it is now.

    Nitro.. I already have that very same info and it appears from the wiring to be set up as option 1.
    I would like it sorted as the rest of the dash is fitted with VDO gauges and obviously matches too. I found out from
    Googling that it may well be still recording the milage even though the display is blank.
    By-the-way, like your avatar photo! Yours?

    Hi Bill yes pic in the avatar is my 31 Model A just undergoing some mild refresh work at the moment, good luck with yours
    Petrol is for washing parts..........Alcohol is for drinking.........
    Nitro is for racing.

    My Intro

    My Car

  8. #48
    Just a quick update on the VDO odometer problem.....It's fixed!!
    Turned out to be a wiring problem so I put in a complete new wire for it so speedo and milage readings now
    readable and the Insurance Co. are happy.
    Looking at the wiring behind the dash, when it comes round to removing the body for repainting, I will have to
    rewire from scratch. There are wires going all over the place that seem to do nothing along with some of the switches.

  9. #49
    Moderator Brizey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    8,231
    Images
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by BuffaloBill View Post
    …..Looking at the wiring behind the dash, when it comes round to removing the body for repainting, I will have to
    rewire from scratch. There are wires going all over the place that seem to do nothing along with some of the switches.
    Rewiring a rod is easy today Bill, there`s plenty of wiring kits aimed at rods and home built cars in particular so strip out all that old spaghetti and start afresh.

    Personally I`ve used `Pop Brown` wiring kits in 2 of my rods and found them easy to fit, top quality and reliable.

    http://popbrowns.co.uk/ox_portfolio/wiring-loom-kit/
    "The older i get, the faster i was".
    Out to pasture ...
    My Intro My Rods

  10. #50
    Thanks for that MrB. I'll be looking into that later.
    A quick update.... I fitted new Cortina springs to the front and I now have suspension again! Needs about an inch taking off the spring
    to get the ride height I want but no big deal. The springs that I took out were approx. 3" shorter so no movement left in them. Also one of
    the rattles was discovered when I removed the upper bolt from the rear shocker to find that the bolt was 3/8" dia. and the shock had a 1/2" bush in it!
    No doubt I'll find more yet.....

  11. #51
    Hi Guys

    for what its worth I use a Pop browns wiring loom in my Model A nice simple loom to fit.

    cheer Ian
    Member of the Long Roof society

  12. #52
    Thanks Ian. I will take a look there when I'm near to doing the job.

  13. #53
    Anyone know where I can get a new windscreen rubber seal please.
    Iv'e tried Carbuilder Solutions, PopBrowns and Woolies but no luck. Thanks.

  14. #54
    whats the profile on the seal? have you tried somewhere like belchers engineering or jackhammer? if it is an original style 32 seal try homegrown hotrods, they keep most parts for a '32

    Your emotions will always interfere with your sense of truth

  15. #55
    NSRA member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    3,539
    Images
    2
    Screen rubber? Pics would help! Jago? Seen somewhere one was bonded in then a stock looking surround made of ali or something with a suitable profile, polished up (or painted?) and glued on for a deceptive, stock look.

    Chris
    Bumper sticker - This is an historic vehicle and only has three speeds....... if you don't like this one you sure as hell won't like the others.

  16. #56
    Name:  screen.jpg
Views: 124
Size:  66.2 KB

    The car is an early F/glass job from Geoff Jago. I am reluctant to remove the screen just yet whilst I'm changing
    parts/repairing etc. as I need to road test them afterwards.

  17. #57
    pretty sure thats a brasscraft screen frame,same as the ones that were fitted to Jethro bodies.there still about.dont know where though.google them.if its not.speak to Kris brown he was at jago,s when they were produced.

  18. #58
    Moderator martin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    4,099
    Images
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by tudor32 View Post
    pretty sure thats a brasscraft screen frame,same as the ones that were fitted to Jethro bodies.there still about.dont know where though.google them.if its not.speak to Kris brown he was at jago,s when they were produced.
    http://www.brasscraft.co.uk/

    Who cares If It's glass or steel, It's still a hot rod.

  19. #59
    Quote Originally Posted by tudor32 View Post
    pretty sure thats a brasscraft screen frame,same as the ones that were fitted to Jethro bodies.there still about.dont know where though.google them.if its not.speak to Kris brown he was at jago,s when they were produced.
    From my experience I can tell you that an "off the shelf" screen frame from american suppliers doesn't fit a jago body as the profile of the scuttle is different, so tudor32 statement is probably correct. My Jago Sedan screen was originally bonded in with a stainless trim over the top like Happydaze quotes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •