Thread: Flathead V8 or small block 327

New guest

Flathead V8 or small block 327

Hi all I’m new to the hot rod world and although I’m no stranger to rebuilding engines
    such as Ford cross flow or my beloved Reliant engines which i learnt how to rebuild from a young age and it’s earned me Some extra pocket money and some what of a reputation in the reliant world.

I would really like to find a 255CI Mercury flathead V8 but I would settle for anything flathead if I can find one at a reasonable price.

failing that a 327 small block Chevy v8 would be another choice.

if I can find one at a reasonable price and start to rebuild it, that is the start of my journey into the rod world.

both great hot rod engines ... cost wise the SBC would be a bit cheaper and lots of spare parts around at sensible prices

Mal
    I was told hotrodding was expensive, I laughed.......but it wasnt for long

if your going flathead go for the french flathead out of a truck simca already relieved has 255ci and far better casting than the usa one.unfortunately the french bit put me off but some might not worry.

you'll probably get a 350 sbc and definately a 305 sbc cheaper than a 327. they all look and sound the same and the smallest is still 5 litres and will blow the doors off of most flatheads while still being much more economical doing it. just saying.
    neil.

Dont overlook a 331 Chrysler Hemi if your thinking of a hot rod engine to rebuild .. saying that, because I have one for sale . Just ready for a rebuild . Less money than a Flathead and way more cool than a chevy .

New guest
    Quote Originally Posted by its still redoxide View Post
    Dont overlook a 331 Chrysler Hemi if your thinking of a hot rod engine to rebuild .. saying that, because I have one for sale . Just ready for a rebuild . Less money than a Flathead and way more cool than a chevy .
    ive sent you a PM about it.

Quote Originally Posted by Madman Milner View Post
    ive sent you a PM about it.