Thread: T. for me.

T. for me.

Alan Spittle here, to start with I am well into my Saga years, I am a Contracts Manager for a very large M&E company, and have a very very understanding wife Carol
    Name:  Alan.jpg
Views: 1134
Size:  51.2 KB
    I got into Hot Rods in 1970/1 and had built my first car by 1974 which was a Ray Christopher “C” Cab. I learnt a great deal during this build as we all probably do first time. During the next few years having this car did introduced me to all sorts of different and wonderful people.
    Name:  Spittle & Son 1.jpg
Views: 4117
Size:  30.1 KB

At one show in particular I met and became great friends with the late and great John Bonham, and his family.
    In 1974 I went to the American nationals, when we travelled from Long Island New York to St Paul’s with Ray Christopher and Sebastian Rubbo, an East coast legend with his 36 roadster, who we met through the American NSRA. Our journey was with the Bronx Rodders and we travelled the 1600 miles with a guy name Trash can Tom in his 1936 Chevy sedan, picking up various Rodders on route.

In 1976 I sold my “C” cab and bought another from John Bonham, this was Andy’s Instant T.
    Name:  andy_1.jpg
Views: 2899
Size:  19.4 KB

As this had never been registered in the UK I put a replacement engine in it, as the original Cub Barnett engine had been taken out and put into a black Corvette, when it was on the road I drove it for great 2years.

1978 I went to Columbus to the Nationals and met my then rodding heroes, Andy Brizio and Lil John Buttera (were we discussed his old “C” cab which I still had);

While there I fell for a Center Door “T”. bought it, and then shipped it back from Kitchener Ontario where it was from, and have still got it. When I got back to the UK I had to sell Andy's T to buy the Center door which paid for the car and the shipping.